Cornel West on Occupy Wall Street

Princeton Religion Professor and African-American Studies Professor Cornel West is not a particularly great philosopher. However, I consider him to be a great social prophet.

See the link below:

Cornel West on Occupy Wall Street: It’s the Makings of a U.S. Autumn Responding to the Arab Spring.

I am still trying to decide what I will do to support my brothers and sisters that are occupying Wall Street. Any ideas?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cornel West on Occupy Wall Street

  1. Clark says:

    Can you answer something for me Chris? Because I’m really confused by the protestors taking up a pro-Obama stance when it seems to me he’s the one not taking Wall Street to task. Don’t get me wrong, this is one area where I don’t think Republicans were particularly better. (Which is one of the reasons they had their own populist uprising: the Tea Party) It just seems weird to call for more regulation when the problem clearly is regulatory capture by Wall Street itself. (Seriously, what reforms Democrats did impose seem to have been gently guided by the financial sector itself)

  2. Chris H. says:

    “Can you answer something for me Chris?”

    Anything for you!

    “Because I’m really confused by the protestors taking up a pro-Obama stance when it seems to me he’s the one not taking Wall Street to task.”

    Most of the folks I know associate with this protest are actually quite angry or bitter toward Obama. West would be such a person. That said, keep in mind that this is also the counter-Tea Party. As a Keynsian, Obama is quite friendly toward Wall Street, but his calls for high taxes on the rich and his more recent rhetoric has appealed a bit more to my activist friends.

    That said, I think that the Occupy Wall Street movement is an attempt to give the left a louder voice. However, undermining Obama would be even more counterproductive. Not everyone on the left agrees with me on this (and I will outline this argument more at some point), but the alternative is far far worse.

  3. Clark says:

    Am I the only one who doesn’t like political arguments delivered as a pseudo-prophet, old testament style?

  4. Chris H. says:

    Clark, I am sure that you are not the only one. I think this style is a rich part of the black Christian tradition.

Leave a Reply

